The Ministry of Health is grateful to the National SUDI Prevention Coordination Service (NSPCS) and District Health Boards (DHBs) for the information provided here. This document has been uploaded on to the National SUDI Prevention Website to:

  • provide health and social work professionals with information that includes the most up-to-date DHB based contact details for accessing a safe sleep device for their client’s;
  • outline details of what safe sleep devices and related support are available in each district
  • centralise the information so progress on services under development or personnel changes can be updated.
Northland / Auckland Region
Contact Person DHB Region Contact Email Wānanga Wahakura Wahakura Pēpi-Pod®
Raewyn Smith Northland Raewyn.Smith@northlanddhb.org.nz Yes Yes Yes
Tina Higgins Counties Manukau Tina.Higgins@middlemore.co.nz ON-HOLD Yes Yes
Denise West Auckland DeniseWest@adhb.govt.nz ON-HOLD Yes Yes
Porewa Nathan Auckland PorewaN@nwo.iwi.nz ON-HOLD Yes No
Judith Johnston Niuelua Waitematā Judith.JohnstonNiuelua@waitematadhb.govt.nz ON-HOLD Under Development Yes
Midlands Region
Contact Person DHB Region Contact Email Wānanga Wahakura Wahakura Pēpi-Pod®
Janise Eketone Waikato Janise.Eketone@waikatodhb.health.nz ON-HOLD Yes Yes
Jo Tomo Lakes jo@awhimidwives.co.nz ON-HOLD Under Development Yes
Kaniwa Kupenga-Tamarama and Nicholette Pomana Tairāwhiti Kaniwa.Kupenga-Tamarama@tdh.org.nz, Nicholette.Pomana@tdh.org.nz ON-HOLD Yes Yes
Raewyn Lucas Bay of Plenty Raewyn.Lucas@bopdhb.govt.nz Under Development Yes Yes
Grace Maha Taranaki grace.maha@tdhb.org.nz Under Development Yes Yes
Central Region
Contact Person DHB Region Contact Email Wānanga Wahakura Wahakura Pēpi-Pod®
TBA Hawkes Bay TBA Yes Yes Yes
Angela Weekly Whanganui aweekly@wrhn.org.nz Under Development Yes Yes
Marama McDonald-McGrath MidCentral marama.mcgrath-mcdonald@midcentraldhb.govt.nz Yes Yes Yes
Julie Foley Wairarapa Julie.Foley@wairarapa.dhb.org.nz Under Development Under Development Yes
Louisa Waikari Lower Hutt louisa@kokiri-hauora.org.nz Under Development Yes Yes
Vic Parsons CCDHB Vic.Parsons@ccdhb.org.nz Under Development Yes Yes
South Island Region
Contact Person DHB Region Contact Email Wānanga Wahakura Wahakura Pēpi-Pod®
Linda Monk West Coast linda.monk@westcoastdhb.health.nz Under Development Under Development Yes
Christine Quested Otago christine.quested2@southerndhb.govt.nz Under Development Under Development Yes
TBC Southland TBC ON-HOLD TBC Yes
Kathleen Eade Southland Kathleen.eade@southerndhb.govt.nz Under Development Yes Yes
Kerri-Anne McConachie and Tui Lister Nelson Marlborough kerri-anne.mcconachie2@nmdhb.govt.nz & tui.lister@nmdhb.govt.nz Under Development Yes Yes
Kate Nicoll Canterbury Kate.Nicoll@omwwl.maori.nz Yes Yes Yes
Angela Bennison South Canterbury safesleep@scdhb.health.nz Under Development Under Development Yes