The Ministry of Health is grateful to the National SUDI Prevention Coordination Service (NSPCS) and regional providers for the information provided here. This document has been uploaded on to the National SUDI Prevention Website to:

  • provide health and social work professionals with information that includes the regional contact details for accessing a safe sleep device;
  • outline details of what safe sleep devices and related support are available in each region;
  • centralise the information so progress on services under development or personnel changes can be updated.
Northland / Auckland Region
Contact Person Region Contact Email Wānanga Wahakura Wahakura Alternative Baby Bed
Rose Purchas Auckland sudiprevention@adhb.govt.nz ON-HOLD Yes Yes
Porewa Nathan Auckland PorewaN@nwo.iwi.nz ON-HOLD Yes No
Keziah Matthew Waitematā keziah.matthews@waitematadhb.govt.nz ON-HOLD Under Development No
Tina Higgins Counties Manukau Tina.Higgins@middlemore.co.nz Yes Yes No
Paula Wetere Northland Paula.Wetere@northlanddhb.org.nz Yes Yes No
Midlands Region
Contact Person Region Contact Email Wānanga Wahakura Wahakura Alternative Baby Bed
Jo Tomo Lakes jo@awhimidwives.co.nz ON-HOLD Under Development Yes
Leanne Emery Bay of Plenty Leanne.Emery@ranginui.co.nz Yes Yes Yes
Theresa Hutchinson Bay of Plenty theresa.hutchinson@bopdhb.govt.nz ON-HOLD Yes Yes
Merekaha Waiomio-Brown Bay of Plenty merekeaha.w-b@nash.org.nz ON-HOLD Yes Yes
Teia Grant-Jaram Waikato teia.grant-jaram@waikatodhb.health.nz Yes Yes Yes
Central Region
Contact Person Region Contact Email Wānanga Wahakura Wahakura Alternative Baby Bed
Angela Weekly Whanganui aweekly@wrhn.org.nz ON-HOLD Yes Yes
Marama McGrath MidCentral Marama.McGrath@midcentraldhb.govt.nz Yes Yes Yes
Julie Foley Wairarapa Julie.Foley@wairarapa.dhb.org.nz ON-HOLD Under Development Yes
Chloe Bates Hawkes Bay Chloe.Bates@hbdhb.govt.nz ON-HOLD Yes Yes
Maternal Health Coordinator CCDHB maternalhealthcoordinator@ccdhb.org.nz TBC Yes Yes
Olivia Tikao Lower Hutt olivia.tikao@huttvalleydhb.org.nz Under Development Yes Yes
South Island Region
Contact Person Region Contact Email Wānanga Wahakura Wahakura Alternative Baby Bed
Linda Monk West Coast linda.monk@westcoastdhb.health.nz ON-HOLD Under Development Yes
Christine Quested Otago christine.quested2@southerndhb.govt.nz Yes Yes Yes
Debbie Fisher Nelson Marlborough debbie.fisher@nmdhb.govt.nz Under Development Yes Yes
Angela Bennison South Canterbury safesleep@scdhb.health.nz ON-HOLD Yes Yes
Christine Quested Southland christine.quested2@southerndhb.govt.nz Yes Yes Yes
Nichaela Gulbransen Canterbury nichaelag@tepuawaitanga.maori.nz Yes Yes Yes